A. Bahoviddinov Institute of philosophy, political science and law

734025, Dushanbe city, Republic of Tajikistan, 33, Rudaki Avenue

Tel: (+992 37) 221-56-89

The history of formation and functioning of the Institute of Philosophy, Political Science and Law of RT starts from the second half of last century. In 1951, by decision of the Council of Ministers of the Tajik SSR (March 8, 1951, № 116), Department of Philosophy was established. Later, on the basis of the above mentioned department, the Institute of Philosophy and Law was established in 1991. In February 2011, A. Bahovaddinov Institute of Philosophy, Political Science and Law were established. In the 50s of last century, the head of the Department of Philosophy of the Academy of Sciences of Tajikistan SSR was a prominent Tajik scientist academician A. Bahovaddinov. Under the supervision of academician A. Bahovaddinov, questions of Marxist-Leninist philosophy, especially of dialectical and historical materialism and the history of philosophy were explored.     


Scientists devoted most of their works to study cognitive function problems and the evolution of scientific ideas about matter, motion, time and space, the disclosure of the actual conditions, causes and consequences of scientific revolutions, the study of the features of dialectical thinking in science and other relevant theoretical problems. 

 During this period, a significant contribution to the development of philosophy and education of highly qualified scientific personnel was made by the academician M. Osimi.

In the first phase of activity of the Division of Philosophy, the largest part of the research has been devoted to the history of philosophical and socio-political thought of the Tajik people and the people of the neighboring countries. During 1965-1988, corresponding member G. Ashurov was the head of the Department of Philosophy.

On 19th March 1991, the Institute of Philosophy and Law of Academy of Sciences of the Taj. SSR was formed and M. Dinorshoev was elected as its director. In the initial phase, problems associated with the history of the origin and development of the Tajik philosophy: theoretical and methodological problems of ontology, epistemology and anthropology, social philosophy, history, philosophy and religion; sociological analysis of structural reforms in Tajikistan, were studied and published as philosophical and legal heritage. 

Since 1990, employees of the department of social philosophy of the Institute have carried out important research aimed at finding and identifying ways for the solution to the problem of such as interaction and national interests of the Tajik people with other nationalities and ethnic groups living in Tajikistan.

In 2004, as per suggestion of the Presidium of AS, the Government of the Republic of Tajikistan adopted a resolution, under which the Institute of Philosophy and Law of RT was named after academician A. Bahovaddinov.

Employees of the Department of State and Law in the period of independence of the Republic of Tajikistan conducted extensive research in the following areas:

  • problems of the constitutional system of Tajikistan
  • History of the Tajik state and law, legal theory and doctrine
  • political and legal thought of the Tajik people
  • the formation of legal and legislative system
  • the creation of a legal framework of system of political
  • economic and business relations.


During 2007-2008, Institute of Philosophy of Tajikistan was led by the corresponding member K. Olimov. 

In 2009, A.A. Shamolov was elected as the director of the A. Bahovaddinov Institute of Philosophy.

By the resolution of the Government of the Republic of Tajikistan, on February 4, 2011, the Institute of Philosophy of the RT and the Institute of State and Law of the RT were combined and A. Bahovaddinov Institute of Philosophy, Political Science and Law was organized and A.A. Shamolov became the director of the institute. The Institute of Philosophy, Political Science and Law has 15 research departments:

  • the Department of ontology and epistemology
  • the department of philosophy of science and logic
  • the department of history of philosophy
  • department of social philosophy
  • department of Philosophy of Culture
  • department of History and Philosophy of Religion
  • Department of Sociology, Department of Political Science
  • Department of International Relations
  • Department of Public Law
  • department of History of State and Law
  • Department of International Law
  • Department of Islamic Law
  • Department of the modern theory of State and Law
  • Department of relatively (comparative) law
  • Centre of Avicenna and scientific library.


The main areas of scientific activities of the Institute are: philosophy, politics, religion, cultural studies, sociology, government and law.

Currently, the institute has 145 employees, including one academician of the RT, 3 corresponding member of Tajikistan Academy of Sciences, 28 doctors and 40 candidates. There were 82 post graduate students, 3 PhDs. There are two dissertation councils and five specialties.